Switzerland, officially the Swiss Confederation, is a landlocked alpine country of roughly 7.6 million people in Western Europe with an area of 41,285 km. Switzerland is a federal republic consisting of 26 states called cantons. Berne is the seat of the federal authorities, while the country’s economic centers are its two global cities, Geneva and especially Zurich. Switzerland is one of the richest countries in the world.

It is bordered by Germany, France, Italy, Austria and Liechtenstein. Switzerland has a long history of neutrality it has not been at war since 1815 and hosts many international organizations, including the Red Cross, the World Trade Organization and one of the U.N.’s two European offices. Switzerland is multilingual and has four national languages: German, French, Italian and Romansh. The establishment of Switzerland is traditionally dated to August 1, 1291; the first of August is the national holiday.

Travelers from the US who possess a Permanent Resident Card or a valid US passport are permitted to travel to Switzerland for less than 90 days for a visit, vacation, business or medical treatment are not required to possess a visa. A visa will be required for stays of more than 90 days if the purpose of the visit is for study or vacation. Additionally, a visa is required for business stays lasting longer than 8 days. For detailed information on visa requirements for Switzerland, follow the link below.

Detailed requirements for Switzerland