The Republic of Kenya is a country of east-central Africa bordering on the Indian Ocean. The site of many early hominid fossils, Kenya was inhabited during historic times by various Cushitic, Nilotic, and Bantu peoples including the Kikuyu and the Masai. The coast was settled by Arab traders in the 8th century A.D. and later (16th-18th century) by the Portuguese.Kenya became a British protectorate in 1890 and crown colony in 1920. It achieved independence in 1963. Nairobi is the capital and the largest city. Population: 36,900,000.

US citizens traveling to Kenya must possess a valid US passport and obtain a visa prior to entering the Republic of Kenya. For detailed information regarding visa requirements and other immigration related concerns for the Republic of Kenya, follow the link below.

Detailed information for Kenya